Seminole Electric Cooperative Welcomes Lisa Johnson as New CEO

Seminole Electric Cooperative (Seminole) announced today that its Board of Trustees (Board) has selected Lisa D. Johnson as its new chief executive officer (CEO) and general manager.

Johnson succeeds Timothy S. Woodbury as CEO. Woodbury will continue to advise Seminole and its Member cooperative systems until his retirement in December 2013. Johnson assumes her new role beginning August 1.

“Johnson’s utility expertise, leadership abilities, and progressive vision will position Seminole and its Member distribution cooperatives for the future, so that we can continue providing affordable and reliable electricity to our member consumers,” said Seminole’s Board President Malcolm V. Page.

Johnson has been serving as senior vice president and chief operating officer of Old Dominion Electric Cooperative (ODEC) in Glen Allen, Va., since 2011. Johnson joined ODEC in 2006 following an 11-year tenure with Mirant Corporation and Southern Company.

Johnson holds a Bachelor of Science degree in mechanical engineering and materials science from Duke University. She serves as a board member and chair of the Cooperative Research Network and was named one of Virginia’s most “Influential Women” in 2012.

Woodbury has been with Seminole since 1979 and has served as its CEO for the last six years. “Tim’s service to the cooperative throughout the past 34 years has been exemplary, and his tenure as CEO has been extremely successful,” said Page. “We look forward to Lisa taking over as CEO and continuing to build on the strong foundation that has made Seminole such a success story.”

About Seminole

Seminole Electric Cooperative is one of the largest generation and transmission cooperatives in the country. Headquartered in Tampa, Fl., Seminole’s mission is to provide reliable, competitively priced, wholesale electric power to its 10 Members, which include four of the largest distribution cooperatives in the United States. Approximately 1.7 million people and businesses in parts of 45 Florida counties rely on Seminole Member distribution cooperatives for electricity. For more information, please visit


Download this Media Release (PDF)